The History Of golf at Goodwood
How it all began
On July 15th, 1892 six Sussex gentlemen came together to propose that a golf club should be formed for Chichester and the surrounding area. Despite a low turnout the new club acquired 22 members including three vicars and two single ladies! The nine hole course was formed at Peckham’s Copse, North Mundham and the entrance fee and annual subscription came to one guinea apiece.
Around 1895, the sixth Duke of Richmond's family, especially his daughter Lady Helen, began to take an interest in golf. When financial problems struck the infant course, probably due to its shortage of members, the Duke’s offer for the club to relocate to its present
home in the former kennels on the Goodwood Estate must have come as a welcome relief.
The Kennels had been built in 1787 for the hounds belonging to the third Duke of Richmond. Designed by the architect, James Wyatt, the building is described as the
finest example of Sussex flintwork throughout the country. The interior today has
seen modifications to accommodate the growing club whilst the building’s exterior
Explore The Kennels
Over the years, the club has seen many famous golfers and society faces including the Prince of Wales (later King Edward VIII), the Duke of York (later King George VI), and, particularly during Goodwood’s famous Festival Glorious Goodwood, many well-known jockeys and racehorse owners.
In the 1950s, televised golf began to have its effect and interest in the game swelled and the club’s membership grew. In 1962, the club became the Goodwood Golf Club Limited.
The historic course was brought up to date to meet the challenges of the 21st century golfer with a major renovation