The history of Goodwood and the Dukes of Richmond is inexorably linked with horses. The first Duke of Richmond originally came to Goodwood to enjoy the foxhunting with the Charlton Hunt, then the most fashionable hunt in the country. The second Duke commissioned the leading equestrian artist, John Wootton, to paint six of his favourite hunters with local landmarks in the background. His son, the third Duke was an early patron of George Stubbs, England’s greatest animal painter, and stayed at Goodwood for nine months in 1759 while he painted three sporting scenes: Racehorses Exercising; The Charlton Hunt; and Shooting at Goodwood. Each shows meticulously observed horses. The third Duke also commissioned the celebrated architect, Sir William Chambers to design a magnificent stable block which is one of the grandest in the country. It is still in use today for race meetings.
The first public race meeting at Goodwood was held in 1802 and racing has taken place up in the Downs ever since. The fifth Duke was particularly instrumental in drawing up the rules of racing and was a successful race horse owner. In the twentieth century, Goodwood has hosted horse trials, carriage driving championships and for 21 years, international dressage.
The Summer Exhibition, The Horse, will showcase horse-related art from the Goodwood collection, including the Wootton and Stubbs paintings and a picture of the first ever horse box. Visitors will also be able to tour the Stables.
The Horse will run from 1 August to 26 September.
View Entry Prices
- StartMon 01 Aug 2011 01:00 PM
- EndMon 26 Sep 2011 05:00 PM